Skip to content

Kale Chips as a snack and with Gnocchi

March 12, 2012
by

Kale, whether raw or cooked is a nutritionally superior food. We’ve all been reading and hearing this for years but eating is believing when it comes to certain things and for whatever reason it took me some time to warm up to kale. When the kale craze hit a few yeas ago, a friend sent me a recipe saying she makes it and eats it straight from the mixing bowl on the counter…the leaves are just a tad tough and bitter for my taste so I shyed away from her raw recipe. Then I learned about kale chips. Cross my heart and hope to die (not really), they are so good and easy to make especially if you have a Trader Joe’s nearby where you can buy kale pre-washed and cut into bite sized pieces. All you have to do is preheat the oven to 400, pour a tablespoon or so of olive oil into the palm of your hands so you can toss the leaves to lightly coat, then bake for 10-15 minutes. The dark green leaves turn into gorgeous, translucent, airy-light chips. During the baking time toss with a spatula every few minutes to keep any leaves from burning. No salt needed.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Baking removes all the moisture from the otherwise thick leaves.

I’d not intended for them to be eaten this way but learned that gnocchi and kale go great together.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    March 12, 2012 11:24 am

    You know how I feel about kale!!!

    Hard to believe something that healthy is also that good 🙂

  2. March 12, 2012 11:34 am

    YOU, my dear Jennifer were my inspiration to try these. I just took a shortcut and bought the kale cut and cleaned! Remembering the wonderful dinner you welcomed us to Portland with last Spring. 2 spring breaks together and in a row still seems too good to be true. XOXO can’t wait.

  3. March 12, 2012 2:46 pm

    Kale would have to be on my list of foods I’ve never eaten. Seems like it may have an interesting texture and taste…gnocchi are wonderful for creating new and interesting dishes and you’ve certainly done that with your kale chips and gnocchi. x

    • March 17, 2012 9:36 pm

      Hi Yvette,
      I KNOW you don’t have a Trader Joe’s near you so be sure to get the kale as dry as possible after washing it. I think that is part of what makes this so easy and quick. Because the leaves have only a little oil, they loose their moisture in a matter of minutes. Adding this to gnocchi was just a whim and it turned out great. Let me know if you try the Kale or the kale with gnocchi!
      Amy

Leave a Reply

