Skip to content

Stuffed Fried Green Olives

February 8, 2012

Like other forms of art, cooking and recipes are not usually completely original ideas. Rather, they are variations on themes and a conglomeration of past experiences. As you know, I always give credit when and where credit is due and for this recipe I would like to site something I saw a month or so ago but for the life of me can’t remember where I saw it. It sounded really good so I made note of the general idea, stored that in my brain’s recipe file and pulled it up for our Sisterhood of the Travelling Pans holiday gathering in December.Β It was a whole lot easier than I’d anticipated except for the fact that only a quarter of the large green olives I’d purchased were actually pitted. Pishaw, 15 olives were hardly enough to take to a party so I dialed up a friend and much to my delight she owned, and could put her hands on, an olive/cherry pitter. These were rather large green olives so it took some brute strength and a few very misshapen olives some with pits still attached were produced but I made my way through about 45 of them and laughed at the big ol’ mess I’d made. You can fill these with pretty much anything you’d like. I made a mixture of chopped hard salami, cream cheese, some tomato powder from the Spice House and a few herbs and spices, they get rolled in flour, then egg and finally panko before hitting the hot oil. They cook in less than a minute and go down even faster. Keep the cocktails flowing when serving these…they are a tad salty but SO good.

Stuffed & Fried Green Olives

  • 50 large green pitted olives
  • 2 Tbsp ground hard salami
  • 4 Tbsp cream cheese
  • 1 tsp dried tomato or tomato paste
  • a few shakes of oregano
  • pinch of cayenne
  • 1 cup canola oil for frying
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup panko
14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2012 9:33 am

    Love the way you did these pictures!

  2. February 9, 2012 9:44 am

    Thanks Laura – are the steps clear enough with out having them written out in normal recipe form? Wanted to try something new but can spell it out if need be. Let me know. OK?

  3. Mary Mulhern permalink
    February 9, 2012 9:47 am

    Amy, you have really done it this time – I love every ingredient in this receipe, haven’t heard of these before now. Call me next time you are making so I can come over to learn and eat! Yum Yum You are the best, open a restaurant!

    • February 9, 2012 8:38 pm

      I’ll let you know next time I make ’em and you can come over!!

  4. February 9, 2012 10:02 am

    Some of the most beautiful words in language….

    Stuffed
    ][
    Fried
    ][
    Olives
    —————–
    Hello!?! I need a chamois to clean the drool on the keyboard and computer monitor. Clearly your “big ‘ol mess” yielded beautiful, delicious results. YUM!

    • February 9, 2012 8:35 pm

      thanks for the laugh Jessica!! it was a mess but thanks to YOU and your pitter, we had success!

  5. February 9, 2012 11:02 am

    Those look fantastic! Wish I could eat one now. πŸ™‚

  6. Jennifer permalink
    February 9, 2012 1:50 pm

    Uh…pretty sure this is the stuff that keeps Cardiac surgeons in bidness, but I’m going to try these very SOON!! They look and sound ethereal!!!
    You rock, foodie sister.

    • February 9, 2012 8:37 pm

      Hah! Yeah, definitely a special treat. I’ve since learned that you can soak and rinse the olives several times to reduce the saltiness a bit.. next time.

  7. February 15, 2012 10:49 am

    What an awesome idea! Delicious!
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  8. April 4, 2012 11:14 am

    I tried these over the weekend and all I can say is this is THE best recipe I have tried for fried green olives, EVER! They were the crispest and tastiest, I am thinking that added little layer of flour added MUCH to the crisping factor. And…Who would have thought salami? Sheer Yumminess! I am thinking of trying these with a little pepperoni as well the next time I make them… maybe… they were so good I am afraid I may ruin the recipe though.
    I have tried more than a few fgo recipes recently in my quest to find the perfect one to showcase in my upcoming blog and funny thing is; I find your recipe right here on wordpress after scouring the “usual suspects” recipe sites. Sheesh…Thank you so much Amy, I will be sure to link to your recipe! My search is over:)

    • April 5, 2012 7:02 am

      I’m so glad you like them. It was a total experiment since I couldn’t find the recipe that had inspired me to begin with. I was surprised at how easy they were (after the pitting). Thanks for finding and following my blog. I need to get back in the saddle, I have so many recipes photographed that need to be written and posted!

  9. April 5, 2012 1:18 am

    Ooops one more thing, after reading the difficulty you had in the pitting I just bought very large pitted and pimento stuffed green olives. I pulled the pimento but then due to some angel on my shoulders (My very Italian Mom & Gram very likely) persistence (do not waste food, ever!) I ended up putting about half the pimento back into the stuffing. It made it a bit wetter I think so I added a tad bit more tomato powder.
    Quick question, did you try using tomato paste with this recipe before settling on the powder? Just wondering as I had a heck of a time finding the powder and considered making the switch maybe using an Italian flavored paste instead of adding the spices? Maybe a smidgen of flour if using paste may offset? I dunno…. I really loved the original and am afraid to screw with it, but really thinking about adding diced pepperoni though, LOL. Ahhhh… maybe will make some again this weekend experimenting with a couple of versions on my kids… if they don’t like it my families ancient favorite “years old” pizza-gain, AKA Pizzagaina will offset any screw ups on the appetizer olive variations;) Mmmmmm gotta love food so good who cares how much work it is=o)

    • April 5, 2012 7:06 am

      What a great idea, I’ve only ever seen smallish size green olives with pimentos so will have to look for larger ones OR make sure the ones I buy are all pitted. I get the tomato powder at The Spice House and they have a great online store so you can order it! I think adding flour might make the taste and consistency wierd. How about finely ground almonds to thicken it up? I don’t know how much of the flavor of the filling I tasted since the olives themselves were quite strong in flavor, and we gobbled them up so quickly! Keep me posted on your results, ok?

Leave a Reply

