Skip to content

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies with Chia Seeds

February 5, 2012

You might ask “Chia seeds in cookies” ? and I’d say “yup, really good and really good for you”. I love these tiny seeds, their snappy pop and the great health boost they provide. I add them to banana pancakes and bowls of granola. Unlike flax seeds that must be ground to release all their goodness, chia seeds are eaten whole. I added them to this recipe a friend at work had posted on Facebook. I changed the recipe quite a bit and while I liked the original, this one is much healthier. Grinding oats is easy and I often replace some flour in recipes with it. Adding Rice Krispies cereal lightens these cookies and extends the batter a bit. If you don’t have chia seeds the recipe works just fine without them and you don’t have to grind the oats, just make sure to use a full cup of flour and lower the whole oats to half a cup. I find this to be a great combo cookie taking the best of traditional peanut butter, oatmeal and chocolate chip cookies all packed into one. Adding the tiny but mighty chia seeds just ups the nutritional ante.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Chia Seed Cookies

Ingredients

Makes 36 cookies

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats (1/2 ground to flour)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup Rice Krispies cereal
  • 1/2 cup shaved dark chocolate or semisweet mini chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds

Method:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). In a medium bowl or stand mixer cream together the butter, white sugar and brown sugar until smooth. Stir in the peanut butter, vanilla and egg until well blended. Grind half the oatmeal in a spice grinder until flour like. Combine the ground oats with whole wheat flour, baking soda and salt; blend into the batter until just moistened. Mix in the whole oats, rice krispy cereal, chia seeds and shaved chocolate until evenly distributed. Using a cookie scoop or teaspoon, drop on lightly greased cookie sheets. I like to press them down with a flat bottomed cup dipped in sugar. Cookie in photo below on bottom left has not been pressed down. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes in the preheated oven, until golden brown. Cool on cookie sheets for about 5 minutes before transferring to newspaper to cool.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2013 6:06 am

    Hi I am so thrilled I found your site, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching on Yahoo for something
    else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a
    marvelous post and a all round interesting blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the superb job.

    • September 18, 2013 11:18 am

      Thanks very much. I really enjoy doing this but don’t have the time I used to. Hope to have some new posts soon but in the mean time, try some of the recipes posted and be sure to let me know how you like them. Thanks for following!

Leave a Reply

