Skip to content

For the Love of Bees – in urban Chicago

January 14, 2012

I used to work with this very cool graphic designer. She left our office last spring and I knew she was destined for great things. She and some girl friends started Quite Strong “Creatives of the female variety” and more recently, after time spent in Eugene learning hands on bee keeping skills, she created Bike-a-Bee. SO here’s the skinny – she’s planning on setting up hives in urban farms and gardens all over the city as a community project and will tend them all via her trusty bike. She used to ride to our corporate office in the ‘burbs from the city well before it was the rage and I admired her for that. Being a lover of anything related to nature and near and dear to my heart is the bounty we nourish ourselves with, I understand how key bees are to the success of sustaining crop growth. We’d be lost without them. A friend, Randy, keeps several hives in Vermont and has gifted me with jars of honey worth their weight in gold for all the love he puts into them. And I’ve been known to bring back obscure varieties of honey from Gargano, Italy where agumi (citrus), eucalyptus and lavender are among my favorites. Below is a link to an article published today on Huffington Post that explains it all in Jana’s words. Be sure to read it and watch the video of Jana being Jana. And if you feel drawn to this as I am, donate a little something via the Kickstarter link below. We all need bees and I know Jana is going to be Queen Bee of Chicago one day soon.

Link to Huffington Post Article and Video.

Link to Kickstarter Bike-a-Bee where you can make a donation to help out Jana and her bees.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan Burd permalink
    January 14, 2012 7:44 am

    Cousin Amy – This struck a chord – have you (and Jana) read “Farm City” by Novella Carpenter? Quick read about urban farming with bees, gardens and raising you own meat in Oakland – funny but informative – Hope Uncle John is doing well. Love, Susan

  2. January 14, 2012 8:38 am

    Great story Amy! Thanks for highlighting it. I’m wondering if she’d come to Wilmette’s community garden or if we’re too far out of the city.
    Laura

    • January 14, 2012 1:22 pm

      I can ask or you can contact her. I thing this idea of her’s is going to spread like wildfire (in a good way).. she does need to reach her monetary goal first so am hoping people will donate if they can..

    • January 14, 2012 1:27 pm

      Hi Laura! Unfortunately, since my honey processing equipment is on the southside, Wilmette would indeed be a hike. If you wanted help setting up a hive, though, I would be happy to help!

  3. Marc Elberts permalink
    January 14, 2012 8:39 am

    Amy,
    Thanks for sharing and caring. My grandfather had a hive in his backyard when I was kid and we would brave the stings for many a taste of that raw honey. I’m now a investor in Bike A Bee!

    Thanks

    Marc

    • January 14, 2012 1:21 pm

      Cool story Marc. I have that gut feeling that this is going to be a great project and will spread. Jana is super cool and young and talented (do I sound envious?).. Thanks for supporting her.

  4. January 14, 2012 1:08 pm

    Hi Susan. I have not but it sounds wonderful so will look for it and will pass it along to Jana.
    xo, Amy

  5. January 14, 2012 1:22 pm

    Susan! I LOVED that book. It was so inspiring to me! I loved her scrappy, figure-it-out attitude. She’s definitely one of my heroes!

Leave a Reply

