Skip to content

Rod’s 1815 Oak Stout Ice Cream

July 25, 2011

I’m always looking for the proverbial silver lining,  so after Friday night’s storm that broke Chicago records for rainfall (6+ inches in 3 hours), this ice cream is a toast to our great neighbors who banded together and made the best of the storm’s messy aftermath. My phone rang at 4 a.m. Saturday. A concerned neighbor who knew my basement has flooded in the past wanted me to know that our neighborhood was looking a bit like Venice and that I might want to check my basement. Sure enough, water was seeping in but the sump pump was doing it’s job so out I went to check on the rest of the ‘hood. Several of us were out with umbrella’s and flashlights since the sun wouldn’t be up for at least another hour. With many helping hands, extra sump pumps were carried around getting water out of the most basements. The sun came up and it turned into a beautiful summer day. Most people spent the day carrying up and out soaked cushions and wet papers setting anything salvageable in the sun to dry. Around 4:30 I got a call that Jessica, known for spontaneity and her delicious cooking, was hosting a post-flood party. She’d be grilling and was expecting people at 5:30 or so. Families made their way down to the Love’s driveway, yard chairs were set up and the grill was fired up. For me, pot luck dinners are the epitome of community and last night was no exception. Sides, chips, sodas and beer made their way to the feast but the Pièce de résistance was brought by Rod, one of our newer neighbors. I’d learned over the fourth of July weekend, while enjoying post-fireworks homemade ice cream on my porch, that he brews beer and he promised when the latest batch was done he would share… and that he did. Everyone was speechless as they tasted his elixir trying to name the mystery ingredients that made this, by far, the best home-brew I’ve ever tasted (I guessed well on the chocolate, vanilla and coffee notes but missed the bourbon soaked oak chips). He felt it needed a little more carbonation but for me it was just right. Lot’s of talk of beer followed and Tomas told us about the Guinness-vanilla ice cream floats he enjoys some nights. There are so many non-traditional ice creams being made these days I told them I would love to try making some using this amazing stout (inspired by my friend and fellow blogger Liz who made some awhile back using a New Belgium brew). So, using my Mom’s ice cream base recipe and some recent reading in Saveur about a new technique for making ice cream developed by Jeni Britton Bauer, I made some ad lib changes and came up with this. You can use any stout, but I lucked out with this hand crafted beauty named after Rod and Paige’s home address making this batch out of this world, fitting for our neighborhood and neighbors.

 

1815 Oak Stout Ice Cream

Ingredients to make about 1 quart

  •  3 whole eggs
  • 1/2 cup raw turbinado sugar
  • 1/3 cup agave nectar
  • 2 tsp blackstrap molasses
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 1 cup stout
  • 1 1/2 cup whipping cream
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp corn starch
  • 1/8 tsp maldon sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Method

Using a hand mixer, beat eggs with sugar until thick (about 2 minutes on high speed). Add molasses and agave nectar and beat until combined well. Set aside. Heat 1/2 cup milk in saucepan until boiling. In a separate bowl mix remaining milk, stout, cornstarch, cocoa, vanilla and salt until frothy. Stir stout slurry into boiling milk and remove from heat mixing well before slowly adding to egg/sugar mixture. Mix again for a few seconds until all is well blended. Chill for 2 hours then turn into ice cream maker and churn for 20-30 minutes until consistency is quite thick. Remove to a bowl or freezer container and allow to set up in freezer for several hours before serving. Freezing overnight will give best results but like most homemade ice cream with no binders this does melt quickly, especially in the heat we’ve been having.

Beat eggs and turbinado sugar until thick

Slurry of milk, stout, cocoa powder, vanilla extract and corn starch

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine permalink
    July 25, 2011 2:43 pm

    This sounds amazing! I love the stories that go with each recipe.

  2. July 27, 2011 10:39 am

    That is definitely a new genre of flavors for me to think about. I can totally imagine a vanilla & Guinness combo, and Bailey’s = whiskey + cream, so I guess this whole concept is promising. But what, pray tell, are “oak chips”??? (I assume they are not the non-chewable product I’m imagining.)

    As for my own frozen dessert experiments, my latest fave is Raspberry Mojito sorbet, a variation on last summer’s invention of Mojito sorbet. (It’s a seasonal specialty, as this recipe requires lots of fresh apple-mint.) Also would make a fabulous, albeit labor-intensive cocktail. So yummy, and a bit less tart than straight up Mojito for those who have a sensitive pucker reflex. 😉 Main thing is to be careful about the balance of lime vs. raspberry so one doesn’t overwhelm the other.

    By the way, I was curious to see your inclusion of corn starch in the stout ice cream recipe. Never tried that before. Have you ever used gelatin? I’m looking for ways to decrease the fat content of ice cream without it getting too icy… Will be interested to hear your thoughts.

  3. Paige permalink
    July 29, 2011 7:49 pm

    I made the recipe and also was lucky enough to sample Amy’s original batch, and all I can say is YUM! I might be a little impartial since 1815 Oak Stout was created by my hubby, but it is delicious! The oak chips are just that, chips of oak wood that are usually used for smoking things on the grill. You can purchase them in most stores that carry grills (hardware stores and the like). The oak chips were soaked in bourbon and added to the beer as it was fermenting. I am making stout chocolate cupcakes with the beer now, and of course drinking a little here and there along the way. Thanks, Amy, for thinking of this and sharing the recipe with all of us.

Trackbacks

  1. Dinner of Unusual Ingredients or Unusual Combinations « World Plates

Leave a Reply

