Skip to content

For my brother Ken

July 8, 2011
by

It’s been a month since I’ve posted anything for you so tonight I thought I’d put up a little tribute to my brother Ken who passed away last Thursday. He was 8 years older than me but was the closest to me in age of my 4 siblings. I looked up to him and for years followed in his footsteps learning black and white photography and taking drafting and architectural drawing classes as he did in high school. We lived in Texas at the same time.  I was in Fort Worth at TCU while he was south of Houston making sails at Ulmer Sails. We both learned to sail on a sunfish on Lake Gilbert in Wild Rose, Wisconsin.  He went on to sail much bigger boats and was a master at his craft of sailmaking. When he lived in Wisconsin we raced across frozen Lake Geneva in ice boats. A co-worker posted a sweet commentary/obituary on scuttlebutt saying he was one of the last true on your hands and knees sailmakers… He will be missed by all who knew him, most of all his family who loved him with his tender heart, dearly.

So, this one is for K.J. who kept our family recipes alive by making them for his own family. His daughter Emily coined the phrase “Grandmapalooza” when they made a meal using several of our Mom’s recipes. I’ll be making a cookbook for the holidays with all those family classics and will list them out here, in no particular order with links to those I’ve posted on World Plates. The rest you’ll have to wait for.

P.S. I have been cooking and photographing many things I’ll be posting soon so don’t lose faith, more to come soon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2011 7:37 am

    Ooooh my gosh … what a great post! Some of these recipes bring back big memories, especially your mom’s French onion soup, angel food cake w/ the strawberry whipped cream and loose fries! What a great tribute to Kenny – and your mom, too!

  2. July 9, 2011 10:30 am

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

