Skip to content

Salted Caramels for Cancer

May 6, 2011

I’ve been making caramels for close to 10 years now so when my friend and fellow blogger told me she was doing an on-line auction to raise money for Pancreatic Cancer research they were the first thing I though of. I loved the idea of her auction and saw that many people had contributed food stuffs so threw my name and sweet treats into the mix. Right away she emailed me that someone had bid $20 for them so I said put up another 5 dozen and see if you can make some more money! Easy enough. So it went and within a few days I had the emails for the people who had won the lots so I could get their addresses for mailing them their loot. 

While I can’t give my recipe away I still wanted to share with you the story and a couple of photos (just to get  your mouths watering for my next post – another sweet treat that is super easy to make – Peppermint Patties).

Wrapped in wax paper, these buttery caramels usually get gobbled up before the wrapper hits the trash can

Just a sprinkle of Maldon Sea Salt adds the perfect balance to the buttery sweetness of the caramel

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Colleen permalink
    May 6, 2011 7:17 am

    Yummmmmm! Are you still making them for cancer or is this another recipe I need your help with? If you’realing I’m buying!

    • May 6, 2011 7:53 am

      Col – the auction ended but I make ’em all the time. Let me know how many you want!

  2. May 6, 2011 7:32 am

    Those look amazing!

  3. Jenny permalink
    May 6, 2011 7:59 am

    These are the best thing ever! We love them here on the East Coast. I will place an order in July for Howard’s B-day! Hugs and Kisses! J, H&Z Rogers

    • May 6, 2011 8:00 am

      I’d forgotten I brought them out East… just let me know when you want them and a care package will be on its way.
      xoxo Amy

  4. May 6, 2011 12:38 pm

    What a “sweet” idea! The caramels look heavenly.

  5. May 7, 2011 6:31 am

    Well done on doing your bit for such a worthy cause and with such tasty treats too!
    🙂 Mandy

    • May 9, 2011 8:29 pm

      Thanks Mandy – it was a ‘no brainer’ and an easy way to help raise $ for a good cause.

  6. May 9, 2011 5:38 pm

    I both love you and hate you for these caramels. I was the lucky winner of one batch from the cancer auction, and now I’m totally addicted!! I tried to be nice and bring a few in to share with my staff, and now they want to buy some!! So much for getting them away from me. =)

    Amy, you are amazing!! I’m so glad I got to meet you!

    • May 9, 2011 8:28 pm

      I’m so glad you like them Lizz. Did you share them with your daughter?? I’m happy to make more for your staff…email me 🙂 So glad to have met you and I love your blog! So fun.

  7. Mary Mulhern permalink
    September 1, 2011 9:16 am

    Hey Amy, I will buy these for cancer or whatever charity you want, let me know, thanks. Mary Mulhern

Leave a Reply

