Skip to content

French Onion Soup – à la Julia

March 7, 2011

When I started this blog, many people asked me if I’d seen the movie Julie and Julia. Often they’d follow with “are you going to do that?” to which I’d explain, “not exactly”. My goal was not to recreate every recipe from someone else’s cookbook, despite how fun THAT might be. Rather, I wanted to showcase what I cook, hopefully explaining things in a way that would prove how easy cooking simple ingredients can be, and mostly, hoping to get people back in the kitchen making good food that’s good for them. If you’ve been following World Plates you know that I often give you my own recipes and sometimes modify existing recipes, but in the case of this french onion soup, nobody does it better than Julia Child.  So, this recipe is directly from the copy of Mastering the Art of French Cooking  I was lucky enough to inherit in 2000 from my Mother’s extensive cookbook collection. One of the best things about her cookbooks are the notes she penciled into the margins and the yellowed clippings of similar recipes that are stuck between the book’s pages. The first time I made it I was amazed at how much the onions cook down, how thick the stock and onions get, and how satisfying this soup is. With a green salad and a nice glass of wine, you’re set. Bon appétit!

Julia Child’s French Onion Soup (Soupe à l’oignon)

    

I followed Julia’s recipe quantities for everything but the onions. For those I used my Mom’s notation for more

Cook the onions slowly with the butter and oil in the covered saucepan for 15 minutes

Uncover, raise heat to moderate, and stir in the salt and sugar. Cook 30-40 minutes stirring frequently, until the onions have turned an even, deep, golden brown.

Sprinkle in the flour and stir for 3 minutes.

 

Fill individual soup tureens or oven proof bowls leaving room for bread and cheese

Cut toasted bread into cubes (makes the eating easier)

Top with swiss (Gruyère or Emmenthal) and Parmigiano

Broil until cheese is melted and bubbly

A clipping stuck in my copy of Julia’s famous cookbook. Check out the prices on the flip side.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2011 11:42 pm

    You can’t go wrong with Julia’s recipes. I have an old book from my Gran and it too is filled with little clippings from yesteryear.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. stella alatzas permalink
    March 8, 2011 7:29 am

    Amy, looks really good. One of my favorite soups also. I have never prepared French onion soup but you inspired me to try it!

Leave a Reply

