Skip to content

Goo what? Gougère = Cheese Puffs

December 4, 2010
tags:
by

Gougères are pâte à choux, or cream puff dough with cheese mixed in. They are the perfect appetizer, delectable bite sized cheesy puffs that go great with a cocktail or glass of bubbs without filling you up. This recipe came to me from Linda, a dear friend who was so generous with her recipes, hospitality and herself. I made these last night to take to a new book club I was invited to as they had just read “My Life in France”. My friend Eileen, who was hosting, knew I’d read and loved the book when it first came out. She went whole hog and checked out every book she could find on Julia Child, rented “Julia and Julia” and other members brought their copies of “Mastering the Art of French Cooking”. The discussion was lively with great insights into what kind of person Julia Child must have been. Someone we all agreed would have been a good and faithful friend, like Linda. Though I’ve not done it, Linda used to keep these ready to go in her freezer for an impromptu cocktail accompaniment, just let them thaw for 10 minutes or so and bake. Bon appetite.

Gougères

Ingredients: Makes about 4 1/2 dozen

1 cup water

4 Tbsp. softened unsalted butter

1/2 tsp. kosher or sea salt

pinch of cayenne pepper

1 cup bread flour

4 large eggs, room temperature

6 oz. gruyère cheese, grated

Method:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Bring water, butter, salt and cayenne to a boil. Remove from heat. Add flour and stir with a wooden spoon(not a whisk) until well incorporated. Add 1 egg at a time, stirring until well mixed. Add cheese, stirring until melted. Drop dough by generous teaspoonful or put into pastry bag with simple tip and pipe onto a Silpat mat or parchment. Sprinkle each with a little sea salt and grated cheese. Bake until golden brown, about 40 minutes. Serve immediately. You can also freeze the dough balls on a baking sheet, transfer to a freezer bag and use when needed. Just remove from freezer and allow to defrost before baking.

Bring water, butter, salt and cayenne to a boil

Remove from heat and stir flour in

Add one egg at a time, stirring well before adding another

Add grated gruyère, stir until cheese is melted

Top with sea salt and a little cheese

Gorgeous Gougère. Pour yourself a glass of Cava, Prosecco or Champagne and enjoy

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 10:59 pm

    I’ve been looking for a recipe for these since I had them in San Francisco. If you made them, they MUST be good, so this will be what I attempt!

  2. December 5, 2010 11:24 am

    Yea! I’ve been making them for years and they are super easy and really wow people so I’m happy to share.

  3. Debbie Martin permalink
    December 5, 2010 11:28 am

    I have been lucky enough to enjoy these wonderful treats! They are fabulous – but beware, you can’t eat just one! Thanks for posting the recipe Amy. I think I might try to make them today!

    • December 5, 2010 11:33 am

      It’s the perfect day for them with all the snow… I’m building a fire right now!

  4. Tori permalink
    December 6, 2010 3:50 pm

    I’ll bet these will go with the ham that I just know my mother-in-law is planning for Christmas! Just need to find time in the cookie baking schedule to make them!! Do they freeze ok after baking? Thanks Amy, they look marvelous!!

    • December 6, 2010 3:57 pm

      They freeze beautifully but BEFORE baking. Either pipe them or spoon them onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment and freeze. When you are ready to use them lay out on a baking sheet (on parchment or Silpat mat) and let defrost for about 15 mintues. I’d top with salt and a little cheese once they are thawed.
      Here’s a great Ham Sauce recipe that was my Grandmothers and is a crowd pleaser.
      1/3 cup of each of these ingredients. Butter, prepared yellow mustard, Campbells Tomato soup, sugar. 3 Tbsp. vinegar, 1 egg yolk. Whisk all together in a sauce pan over medium heat until thickened. Reheats well so make ahead and “nuke” just before serving.. Great tangy and sweet combo.
      Let me know how it all goes if you end up making it..
      Thanks for checking out my blog Tori,
      Amy

  5. Elizabeth permalink
    December 26, 2010 2:47 pm

    Amy. Thanks for the recipe! I made these as an appetizer on christmas eve and everyone loved them. When I spooned them out onto the parchment they didn’t quite stay ball-like….spread out a little more. I was wondering if I chilled the dough for some minutes before I formed the balls if they might stay more ball like. What d’ya think? Certainly a pastry bag would work best to keep them uniform shape. I left some in my mom’s freezer for her to make for her next guests! Thanks for sharing!

  6. December 27, 2010 10:16 am

    Hi Elizabeth,
    The dough is soft and does not have to be a perfect ball for them to bake just fine. Most of the time I use a spoon rather than a pastry bag. I don’t know what would happen to the dough it if were chilled. How nice of you to leave some for your Mom…
    So glad you gave the recipe a try.
    Amy

Trackbacks

  1. Italian Caviar – heaven in one bite | World Plates

Leave a Reply

