Skip to content

Iowa Escalloped Corn

November 18, 2010

I’ve written before about a great group of women I meet with to share our passion for cooking. We gathered recently at the home of Sue for a shared meal of our grandmothers recipes. Sue’s home is one of those stately manors with leaded glass windows and ivy growing over the windows. As she put it “who needs window treatments”! Inside was an eclectic mix that was all Sue, from her tomato collection to great art and groovie mix of furniture styles. But the pièce de résistance was in the kitchen, a massive La Cornue range. Sue said it is what sold them on the house and it’s a beaut. The burners are gas as is one of the ovens, the other electric. She had the gas side preheated to 375 for me to slide my soufflé dish in to begin its 40 minutes of fame in this fantastic french oven. Des Moines is the frenchiest this midwestern recipe has gotten to France I’m sure. When it came out of the oven it was regal. Puffed up above the rim and the top was a golden crown of buttered saltine cracker goodness. The recipe, written in my Mom’s handwriting might have come from my grandmother, but I doubt it. I didn’t know her mother who passed early and my father’s mother, Granny Girl, was famous for her Tollhouse chocolate chip cookies. That’s what I remember about her cooking and that wasn’t what I wanted to share with these good-food-loving friends. There was some trepidation on the part of a few gals but once they took a bite were convinced and proclaimed it good. Success! I’m thinking this might be a great addition to the Thanksgiving table. An homage to the Indians who taught us about corn and that can be layered ahead of time and baked while the bird is resting.

Iowa Escalloped Corn

1 can cream style corn

1 can yellow corn

1 can white shoepeg corn

2 sleeves saltine crackers

6 Tablespoons butter

3 eggs

1 cup milk

Salt and pepper

Method:
Butter a casserole or soufflé dish. Create layers starting with crushed saltines followed by a layer of white/yellow corn, salt and pepper. Drizzle with butter. Add a layer of cream style corn, salt, pepper and butter. Repeat ending with crackers and butter on top. Beat eggs and milk, pour over top. Poke holes with a chop stick or skewer to help milk and egg soak through all the layers. Let stand for 30 minutes before baking at 375 degrees for about 40 minutes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily DeSanto permalink
    November 18, 2010 10:25 pm

    So, so good. Warm, comforting but not too heavy. One of my favorites that night!

  2. November 21, 2010 7:13 pm

    Thanks Emily.. I’d forgotten how good it is. I had never made it before so was happy it worked and it tasted like my when my Mom made it.. thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

  3. November 28, 2010 8:22 pm

    I love the evening that you are describing… women friends gathered round to celebrate grandmothers. That is wonderful. I also remember this recipe from my youth. My version wasn’t quite as crispy as it was done in a crockpot. Thanks for sharing.

Trackbacks

  1. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pans: Family Favorites

Leave a Reply

