Skip to content

Apple Cake

November 8, 2010
by

 Every few months my Church participates in “Family Promise“, an interfaith hospitality network providing housing and meals for up to 4 families at a time. Some of our classrooms and offices are converted into bedrooms for the two weeks we host these families that would otherwise be split up with the father normally going to one shelter and mother and children going to another. Each time I volunteer to prepare dinner (’cause that’s what I love to do!) with a partner family from a local Synagogue. Tonight my partner made an amazing beef stew with big chunks of white and sweet potatoes. My job was to bring rolls, salad and dessert. The first two were easy, dessert was the fun part and I came up with this apple cake by perusing recipes on-line and doing my usual take a little of this one and a little of that one to make my own recipe. I wanted to make it healthier than the recipes I’d read so cut the sugar and oil, replaced half the white flour with whole wheat and pulsed some oatmeal in my spice grinder until it was very fine, like flour. I also added a little nutmeg and clove to compliment the cinnamon in the recipes I had read. I doubled the recipe below and baked in a very large pan that measures about 18″ across. This recipe could be made in a 9″x9″ pan and baked the full 60 minutes for a thicker cake than if you use a 9″x13” pan. I thought it also be nice with some cinnamon, brandy whipped cream…so give that a try if you like. I’m glad there were leftovers as I think it would be great for breakfast with a frothy latte or cappuccino.

Apple Cake

2 Eggs

1 cup  sugar 

3/4 cup canola oil

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp  ground cinnamon

pinch of nutmeg and ground cloves

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1  1/2 cup white flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup ground oatmeal “flour”

3 Cups Chopped Apples

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Beat eggs in mixing bowl. Add sugar, oil and vanilla. In a separate bowl combine cinnamon, baking soda, salt and flours and ground oatmeal. Slowly add the flour mixture into the wet ingredients until dough has formed. Add chopped apples to dough (if you don’t have a kitchen-aid mixture with a dough hook, then it is best to mix in apples by hand as dough becomes very thick.). Pour into a lightly greased 9″x13″ pan and cook for 45 – 60 minutes.

Flours, ground oatmeal, spices, leavening

Granny Smith apples

Peel and cut apples into small pieces

Mix eggs, oil and vanilla extract

Batter will be very thick, almost like a dough. Work apple pieces in with dough hook or your hands

Bake at 350 degrees for 45-60 minutes

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy Brereton permalink
    November 8, 2010 7:26 am

    uhhhh….that looks like it needs a wee bit of vanilla ice cream, a big fork and a roaring fire and friends to enjoy it with!!!! Yummy Amy :0)

  2. November 8, 2010 3:03 pm

    Let me know when you make the next batch…I’ll supply the ice cream of course. 😛

Leave a Reply

