Skip to content

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

October 19, 2010
by

I love to combine and tweak recipes in hopes of making something more interesting out of already tried and true basic recipes. Simple banana bread recipes can very easily be enhanced to make their results stellar. I got out my trusty Mayberry (yup as in Aunt Bea, Andy and Opie) and Moosewood cookbooks, thought back to the sweet breads I’ve made in the past and came up with this new, enhanced recipe for banana bread or mini muffins. I used some espresso powder, tiny bit of cinnamon & vanilla,  flavors that would compliment the bananas and semi-sweet mini chocolate chips and buttermilk from yet another neighbors recipe. They are moist and dense so a little slice or mini muffin is all you need.

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins/Bread

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 Tbsp. canola oil
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 tsp espresso powder
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 6 large ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1  1/4 cup all-purpose white flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1  1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips

Mash bananas and set aside. Combine butter, oil and sugars in large bowl or in bowl of stand mixer. Blend until smooth. Add eggs, extract and espresso power, blend well. Add bananas and buttermilk and mix again. Sift flours, salt and baking powder, add to liquid mixture and stir only until moistened then add mini chocolate chips. Fold together without over mixing. Spray muffin tins or loaf pans with Crisco baking spray (with flour) to help prevent sticking. Fill tins or pan 3/4 full. Bake in preheated oven at 350 degrees until browned and when a toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean. Mini muffins take about 20 minutes, a full loaf pan can take over an hour. Cool on rack.

Mash banana with the back of a fork right inside the peel

Fill mini muffin tins 3/4 full

Bake until toothpick inserted in middle of muffin comes out clean

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 6:22 pm

    Yep Going to the kitchen to make something similar…. now 🙂

  2. Jacqueline Allen permalink
    October 19, 2010 10:18 pm

    Amy, the muffins look really great, but I must take issue with your assessment that a little slice is all you need. I have never been satisfied with a little slice. Like you, I’ve also taken to adding mini chocolate chips. I think they detract from the banana intensity, but they are fun and my daughter loves them. I’ve also been tweaking my recipe to make it healthier so that I can justify making banana muffins more often. My latest trick is to add whey protein powder to the batter. I mix it in with the flour, baking soda & salt to prevent clumping before adding to the wet ingredients. Absolutely no difference in the taste, heh heh. With all the banana you’d never guess these were low fat, high protein muffins. That plus the huge glass of milk my daughter will drink alongside make these a stellar breakfast treat. Sneaky moms everywhere, unite!

    • October 20, 2010 6:15 am

      OF COURSE one could eat more… Love your sneaky-Mommy healthy tricks too. I usually add ground flax seed to anything baked and try to substitute ww for white unless it changes the taste/texture too much. This particular recipe is NOT on the super healtly spectrum as I wanted the full butter flavor. I often use applesauce to replace the fat in brownies and have tried the prune puree trick that works nicely if you don’t mind the chewy vs. crispyness of cookies. I’ve had a hard time finding non-flavored whey protein powder and that darn vanilla is not a good taste to me. Thanks for the tips.
      Amy

  3. togga permalink
    December 8, 2010 1:57 am

    I’m gonna give this a whirl. Thanks

Leave a Reply

