Skip to content

Vegetable Timbale alla Maria

September 20, 2010

Light and flavorful best describe the vegetable timbale I had for lunch at Maria’s Bakery in Highwood (Illinois) this weekend. It was so good that on my way home I stopped and bought what was needed to make one, subito! Maria, the owner-baker-chef of il Mulino and Maria’s Bakery was happy to share with me how she put her timbale together. She advised me to “be sure to drain the vegetables well after sautéing to keep it light” and to “let it sit a day”. I’d imagine that it would be great with other vegetable combinations too.

Vegetable Timbale

1 russet potato

2 medium zucchini

1 small eggplant

1 pound mushrooms – as large as possible

1 can San Marzano tomatoes

2 pounds fresh spinach

1 pound ricotta

12 oz. mozzarella – shredded

olive oil for sautéing

lots of paper towels

Be prepared to slice and sauté for a good hour before assembling and baking this. I did the slicing in batches to avoid anything turning dark before its turn in the sauté pan. Slices should be about 1/8″ thick, more or less, and are only being partially cooked then drained well on paper towels. Heat a tablespoon of oil in a large skillet and sauté one layer of a vegetable at a time. Turn with fork to lightly cook the other side then transfer to paper towels to drain. Lay a paper towel over the top and gently press to soak up oil then move to a baking sheet. Work in small batches adding another tablespoon of oil and allow to heat before cooking up the next batch. Oil a 9″x9″ baking dish and lay out potato slices, top with layers of zucchini then mushrooms. Sprinkle with half the parmegano and all the ricotta. Continue to layer the eggplant, spinach and tomatoes. Sprinkle with the rest of the parmegano and top with mozzarella. Bake at 350 F for 30 minutes or until the mozzarella is melted and bubbly. Allow to cool then refrigerate overnight. Reheat and enjoy with a few days.

  

 

    

      

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 1:07 pm

    Looks delicious!Do you think it would give the same effect if the vegetables were grilled and not fryed?…Yvette

    • September 20, 2010 6:08 pm

      Hi Vyette, I’m all for trying new things but I do think that grilling would change the flavor quite a bit. It would just be different from this. I thought the same thing but wanted to follow Maria’s instructions on my first try. Let me know how it turns out if you try it. I was going to put some fennel bulb in and think I’ll do it next time. Amy

  2. October 5, 2011 10:18 am

    Gorgeous!! I think the not sauteeing thing was my problem with my last dish… oh well 🙂

Leave a Reply

