Skip to content

Skirt Steak with Arugula Walnut Pesto

July 2, 2010
tags: ,
by

Needed a fast dinner and having never tried cooking a skirt steak figured tonight’s the night.  Made a quick marinade for the steak with olive oil, garlic, red wine vinegar, lemon and let it sit for 10 minutes while I braved the arugula jungle that my garden has become, literally. Every year this time I have to pull up the taller plants that have flowered and grown into woody vines, I usually fill 2 garbage cans full, honest. If I don’t, nothing else would grow. I pulled a few handfuls, pulsed it in my handy mini chopper with a clove of garlic, a few tablespoons of walnut pieces, Parmigiano, a little salt and a drizzle of olive oil. I’d turned the grill on while heading back into the house to make the pesto so it was good ‘n hot when I put the steak on. While I put a green salad together, the steak cooked, about 2 minutes per side. Slather of pesto and schazam, great Summer dinner, 15 – 20 minutes tops from driveway to table.

Skirt Steak with Arugula Walnut Pesto

for 2 people you’ll need:

1/2 lb. skirt steak, fat trimmed

For Marinade – Mix all and in a low dish or platecover both sides of steak

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 Tbsp red wine vinegar

1 glove garlic, chopped

squeeze of lemon juice

For Pesto – pulse all together in a mini chopper or food processor, add a tsp of water if too thick

1 cup arugula, packed

2 Tbsp walnut pieces

1 Tbsp Parmigiano

2 Tbsp olive oil

1/8 tsp salt

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2010 7:22 pm

    YUM!!! I’m on a pesto kick as of late… looks fantastic!

  2. Ann permalink
    July 3, 2010 7:08 am

    What a surprise to find a skirt steak recipe. That is Alan’s new meat of choice and I was trying to find a good recipe to use for that meat. We have tried a few different marinades and I was also thinking of using chimichurri. We had that combination when we were in Puerto Rico and I could of had it every night. I could throw chimichurri on just about everything.

    Skirt steak is not easy to find down here and of course Whole Foods is one of the few stores down here to have it.

    Happy grilling

Trackbacks

  1. Wow! Walnuts « World Plates

Leave a Reply

