Skip to content

Lemon Meltaways

June 15, 2010
tags:
by

Best to make these when you need to take them somewhere or they might test your willpower. This is an old recipe from Southern Living Magazine and when I tasted them this past Sunday I knew I had to post these for you. Corn starch is the reason for the melt in your mouth effect. Don’t question it just make ’em. I added some lemon extract to the cookie dough and rolled them into balls to make them a little rounder than in the original recipe. Either way they are de-vine and would go great with the creamy limoncello sorbet I posted awhile back. Next time I’m going to split the dough into thirds and use orange and lime to get a little citrus trio going.

Lemon Meltaways

1 cup butter softened

1/3 cup powdered sugar, sifted

1 1/4 cup flour

1/2 cup corn starch

1/4 tsp lemon extract

Cream butter and sugar. Add extract. Gradually add flour and cornstarch, beat until smooth. Drop spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet. Roll into balls. Bake at 350 F for 10 -12 minutes. Cookies do not brown on top. Cool on wire racks. Frost with lemon frosting.

Frosting

1/4 cup butter, softened

1 1/2 cup powdered sugar, sifted

2 Tbsp. lemon juice

1 Tbsp grated lemon rind

Cream butter; Gradually add powdered sugar and lemon juice, beating until smooth. Stir in lemon rind. Put in pastry bag or ziplock plastic bag and cut the corner off to pipe onto cooled cookies.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sally E. permalink
    June 15, 2010 7:43 am

    Amy: YUMMMMM! I can’t wait to try the Lemon Meltaways! However, did you mean 1/2 Cup Corn starch? Thanks for this fantastic recipe!

  2. June 15, 2010 8:29 am

    Yup… that’s what makes them so creamy. I make a peppermint version at Christmas time and it too calls for that much corn starch. Let me know how you like them. Hope it makes you smile that I had them on Sunday in the Wallace D. Moore Fellowship hall 🙂

  3. Jacqueline permalink
    June 15, 2010 8:08 pm

    This looks really good, and would make an interesting pairing with the raspberry-mango sorbet I made today. I’d better go swim some laps before I let myself mix up a batch..

Trackbacks

  1. Peppermint Meltaways « World Plates

Leave a Reply

