Skip to content

Garden Fresh Wild Arugula Salad

May 5, 2010

There must have been some magic in that little $2.99 pot of wild Italian arugula I bought about 8 years ago as it has produced abundantly for me and everyone I shared plants with. Every Spring I gently rake away the layer of leaves I dump on my garden, and am always tickled to see all the little arugula plants happily poking their head up. In Chicago we’ve had one 80° day and just recently a bit of rain yet my garden is in full bloom with these hearty plants that normally thrive in the dry hot sun of Southern Italy. This wild variety is quite spicy unlike any of the store-bought leaves I’ve tasted in the USA which are more like flavorful lettuce. Wild arugula has a real kick when eaten raw and when cooked with pasta, mellows in hotness but holds on to its great flavor. Here’s an easy salad that goes together in a few minutes. Add some cooked chicken, shrimp or grilled tofu if you like.

Red Peppers and Red Onions work well with the spicy arugula and sweet orange

and the colors are so vibrant, makes you want to dig in.

Get a load of these plants!

Cara Cara orange, peeled and sliced

2 Tbsp. Olive oil, 1 Tbsp. lemon juice, dash of salt and pepper. Whisk vigorously until emulsified. Toss with vegetables just before serving.

Here’s my garden…leaves removed but it still needs to be turned and planted. Mother’s day is the usual “safe” weekend for planting in this zone.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 8:13 am

    What a gorgeous salad and a wonderful garden — I’m jealous! Every time I think about going to the garden store here, it starts to rain and/or the weather gets really, really cold again. I don’t think spring is ever going to arrive. Enjoy the arugula for me!!

Leave a Reply

