Skip to content

Pan Seared Halibut Cheeks and Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Shallot and Sage Butter

April 27, 2010
by

Yes, fish have cheeks. That’s what the fishmongers at Sunset foods told me tonight when I was shopping for dinner and noticed these nice little rounds of white fish with a sign “Halibut Cheeks“. What the heck, I’m game for anything once and they told me the cheeks are the sweetest, flakiest part of the fish. I’d had sweet potato gnocchi with shallot, sage butter/oil on the brain so figured I’d go for a double-header tonight and try two new things. Ahhh, sweet success. I’m converting to fish cheeks whenever they are available. The asparagus looked nice and young and I thought would add great color to the plate so this is what came out of  tonight’s experiment. I love learning something new.

Pan seared halibut cheeks, sweet potato gnocchi with shallot, sage butter and asparagus 

Use a ricer or mash 16 0z. potatoes with fork. I used one white potato too.

Dough will look like this after kneading in 1 egg, 1 cup flour, 1/4 tsp. salt, dash of nutmeg and 1 cloved minced garlic

On floured board roll dough into 1/2″ thick logs

Cut pieces about 1/2″ long. They look like little pillows.

Cook in salted, boiling water until gnocchi rises to surface

Brown shallots and fresh sage in 3 Tbsp. olive oil and 1 Tbsp. unsalted butter

Heat olive oil and butter in skillet until hot. Add fish and sear on one side.

Drizzle with Marsala wine before carefully turning over to cook other side

Pan seared halibut cheek

One Comment leave one →
  1. Deanne permalink
    April 27, 2010 5:05 pm

    Alas – my first visit to your blog. My mouth is watering looking at the gnocchi and halibut cheeks. I wish I had your gift for cooking. You make it look so easy here.

Leave a Reply

