Skip to content

May I have seconds? Angel Food Cake with Whipped Cream and Strawberries

April 11, 2010
by

Angel food cake with whipped cream and strawberries has been a family favorite for as long as any of us can remember so since we have three April Birthdays to celebrate and I’m in charge of cake, making this was a no-brainer. Being the adventure seeker that I am I had to break with family tradition and made this one from scratch. Our birthday cakes were one of the few things my Mom made from a box saying, making an angel food cake from a box mix was the only way to go since it ended up tasting as good a one made from scratch. With 5 kids and almost twice as many grandchildren, I understand why she used the boxed version. I opted to use Alton Brown’s recipe and fresh strawberries that are in peak season. It was surprisingly easy and everyone, including the three birthday girls, were thrilled with the results. I’m not so sure that next time I won’t go back to that box with white powder to which you just add water.  Mother knows best (most of the time).

Real whipping cream with a little sugar and really good vanilla extract is key. I used 1 pint of whipping cream, 1 tsp. vanilla extract, 1 Tbsp. sugar and 3 cups sliced strawberries. I also substituted the orange extract in the recipe using 1/4 tsp. almond/lemon each and 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract.

**Spoiler alert – vintage photos at bottom of post.

angelgfood cake

Angel Food Cake with Whipped Cream and Strawberries

With a sharp pairing knife remove stem and white centers of berries

Slice and macerate berries in 1/4 c. orange juice and 1 Tbsp. agave nectar or sugar

Blend sugar in food processor until superfine

Beat egg whites, sugar, extracts, and cream of tartar until medium peaks form

Fold in flour , salt and remaining sugar

Pour into an angel food cake pan

Top will look dry and cracked when done

Inverting the cake while cooling keeps it from falling

Drain berries well

Fold drained berries into whipped cream

Use sharp knife around edge of cake and remove from pan.

Cut cake in half while still on  base of cake pan. Cut top, browned layer off too

Spread first layer of cake with whipped cream and strawberries, top with next layer

Cover top, sides and inside center hole.

April Birthday Girls

OK, Now for some fun.. .these are old photos from various birthdays.

No whipped cream when you’re only one.            or two, though this looks to have something on it.

That cake platter turned and played Happy Bday.     This was #6, since nephew Tim also born on

Jumper made by sister Lo or Carol.                                12/22 has only one candle on his cupcake.                               

Party time with Deanne S. & Cathy May.                     Being the youngest meant I got to help, always.

Nice jumper made by my sister Lo or Carol.               My cheeks rival Armstrong’s or Gillespie’s

Notice the easy bake oven to the right… and a cake I made using it. AND my favorite cowgirl shirt.

nice side burns.. YES, the cake is kosher, ohy.                Hum… not sure what happened this year.

Kenny switched to white cake w/ choc. frosting.            Aunt Bee spent every Sunday with us.

That’s one trusting Mother…I don’t look like I have a good hold on it at all!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. brc permalink
    April 11, 2010 9:02 pm

    Amy this looks really good. I can’t really tell from your write-up if this was worth the extra work over the boxed version or not? And for the novices among your readers (like myself), what does macerate mean? Do we need to cook the berries in the OJ, nectar and sugar or is it like marinating and the berries just soak in the juice? Also.. who are the other two birthday girls?

    • April 12, 2010 5:30 am

      Hi Barbara – Good quesions, I forget I need to explain things better 🙂

      I don’t know that it was worth the effort to make this from scratch again unless you are opposed to boxed mixes or have issue with the ingredients (some artificial and added preservatives). It was fun to try and even more fun that it worked out!

      From Collins online dictionary/thesaurus – “Macerate – soften, soak, steep, squash, pulp, mash, infuse I like to macerate the food in liqueur for a few minutes before serving.”
      Did you notice how the berries looked in the strainer? They are soft and in a sense “cooked”.

      The other birthday girls are my sister Lo and niece Elizabeth (my brother Jim’s daughter).
      I got some fun photos of her youngest son James eating the cake so that’s another generation loving this cake.

      Amy

  2. Linnea permalink
    April 11, 2010 9:49 pm

    We LOVE angel food cake, strawberries & whippy cream in our house too! The problem is we end up eating the angel food cake by itself it’s so darn good and don’t GET to the stage of frosting & strawberries!
    I used to make something called “Angel Food Waldorf” with chocolate whip cream in middle & frosted outside (plus the frosted sides were covered with slivered almonds). Yummm… I haven’t had it in years. It was SO rich.
    In the end, I think I prefer the lighter, fresher strawberry/regular whipped cream. Guess it doesn’t seem like so many calories. But who’s counting?

    • April 12, 2010 5:34 am

      Hi Linnea,

      Oooh, the chocolate whippy cream sounds good and the almonds would look so pretty 🙂
      Funny, after a big birthday dinner we always had room for this cake tho’ we did have to take a long walk before eating it yesterday.

      Happy trying to be Spring,
      Amy

  3. Ann P. permalink
    April 12, 2010 4:30 am

    Angel food cake is one of our favorites and my husband’s family actually just loves the cake slightly toasted and than adding strawberries. Had never done that before and it is good.

    Love the picture of the 3 birthday girls.

    • April 12, 2010 5:37 am

      Hi Ann,
      How do you toast it? A slice in the toaster or the whole cake under the broiler? sounds good, that’s for sure. That Irish Soda bread I made last month is best, in my opinion, toasted with butter 🙂
      Amy

  4. Andrew permalink
    April 12, 2010 6:22 am

    From my perpective, if you’re going to do an Angel Food Cake like this, where there’s lots of other stuff going on, the box is just fine. The one I do with strawberries has you cut a ‘tunnel’ out of the center of the cake, then stuff it with a mixture of the berries, a little cream cheese, some condensed milk and the cake that was taken out to make the ‘tunnel’. Then top that with whipped cream.

    But if you’re making Angel Food for the sake of the cake, then I think making it from scratch is the way to go. I also use Alton Brown’s recipe, and it comes out perfect every time.

    • April 12, 2010 6:42 am

      Hi Andrew,
      What type of pan do you use? Next time you make it can you take a picture to share so that I can see what the tunnel looks like? Or better yet, bring me a piece?!!? That mixture with a little cream cheese and condensed milk and cake sounds really good. Thanks for the tip about cake alone, make from scratch… makes sense.
      Amy

  5. April 12, 2010 3:48 pm

    Rockin’ vintage photos Amy!!! I know that my one candle piece was gone toots sweet. Great photo of you and Aunt Bee. I still have the letter she typed and mailed to me the day I was born. Good stuff.

    RacerX

  6. brc permalink
    April 13, 2010 5:34 am

    The old bday photos are soooooo fun. I love seeing the angel food cake over the years.
    And the Easy Bake Oven cake is precious!

Leave a Reply

