Skip to content

Sister Carol’s Out of this World Salsa

April 6, 2010
by

My sister Carol and I cook alike, mostly by instinct. She has taught me a lot about Mexican cooking having lived outside Austin, Texas since the late 1970’s. She whipped this salsa up one day a few summers ago and I grabbed a scrap of paper to write it down. Like I said, we tend to cook by feel so the quantities are approximate. You can find chipotle peppers in adobo sauce in most markets these days. It adds the smokey, spicy kick and plenty of cilantro,  cumin (comino as Carol calls it) and garlic add  further layers of flavor making this a taste sensation. I make this for friends by the quart to take on vacation and one confessed to eating it by the spoonful like soup. You can throw it together in a matter of minutes and your eggs, chips and taste buds will thank you.

Salsa

1 bunch cilantro, stems removed

3 cloves garlic

1 jalapeno pepper, seeds removed

1   28 oz. can peeled tomatoes

1 Tbsp. ground cumin

2 Tbsp. red wine vinegar

1 Tbsp. olive oil

1/2  tsp. salt

1  1/2  tsp. chipotle pepper and adobo sauce

In a food processor mince cilantro, then garlic and jalapeno. Add tomatoes and spices. Pulse several times until the tomatoes are finely chopped. Add juice from tomatoes if it is too thick. Let this sit a day in the refrigerator to let the flavors meld.

Goes great with chips and a margarita or tequilla sunrise. I put it in scrambled eggs, guacamole or anything that I want a little added kick to.

Remove the white ribs and all the seeds unless you want some added kick. The jalapeno flesh itself will add flavor but not much heat, that comes from the seeds.Tip: Put plastic bags on your hands when working with these or other hot peppers.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. brc permalink
    April 6, 2010 7:04 am

    I can personally attest to the amazing taste and texture of this salsa. I poured a little in a small bowl and ate some with some chips. When the chips ran out, I picked up the bowl and drank what was left straight from the bowl (I REALLY DID). It was like a really spicy gazpacho!

  2. April 6, 2010 9:24 am

    This looks AWESOME! I’m always looking for a killer salsa and I certainly trust an Austin chef. Thanks for sharing. Amy….this blog is fabulous! Keep the recipes comin’…

  3. Debbie permalink
    April 18, 2010 8:31 am

    I tried this as soon as I saw it posted. It was delicious and SO easy to make. This will definitely be a summer favorite! Do you have a good guacamole recipe?

    • April 18, 2010 8:34 am

      Hi Debbie,
      I mash fresh avocado and am a cheater using garlic and onion powder, salt and pepper. That’s it. I like mine simple. Make sure to press plastic wrap over the top so no air touches it if you are not going to use it for a while and with avocados the less mashing and stirring the better. I once did it in a food processor and it turned dark almost immediately and I think that was from too much air…
      So glad you liked the salsa.
      Amy

Leave a Reply

