Skip to content

Butter Dish

March 18, 2010
by

I was going to add this to the bottom of yesterday’s Irish Brown Bread post but realized I love this little dish so much it deserves a post of its own. I met Scott and Amy Belford, local potters in the Northern Chicago suburbs, years ago and was lucky enough to visit their production site. I learned so much during that short visit and was impressed by their attention to detail. One thing that fascinated me was that they throw these pieces as a whole then cut them so that the tops and bottoms match perfectly. I hope my photos do their art justice. Rest assured on leaving your butter out, butter does not spoil when left out in a crock of this sort, up to about 80° F.

Even the bottom of their pieces are gorgeous!

Isn’t this a beautiful way to serve butter?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Yvonne permalink
    March 18, 2010 7:54 am

    I love this dish! I want one now and want to give one to everyone I know. It’s beautiful and it solves the issue I always have with not being able to spread butter.

  2. March 18, 2010 11:20 am

    Turns out that the Belford site does not carry these lovely dishes but I have a call into Scott and will update with info. as soon as I hear back from him. So sorry.
    Amy

Leave a Reply

