Skip to content

Tuesday is soup and sandwich night

March 10, 2010
by

Last night we loaded up my wagon with soup and sandwiches to deliver in the Humboldt Park neighborhood of Chicago. Several members of my Church gather at 4:30 to make sandwiches and heat gallons of soup prepared by other members in their homes. All the shopping is done ahead of time by Peter but the rest of the helping hands vary month to month. We meet the 40′ bus at The Night Ministry headquarters, on Ravenswood, where other volunteers have gathered. Onboard is a registered nurse, several outreach Ministers and volunteers who will serve hot chocolate, coffee and hand out hygiene packets. Having done this for some time it’s a joyful reunion to see folks who also give of their time or have found this to be their life’s work. When we arrive at the corner of Division and California, folding tables are set up by self appointed helpers who have come for a meal. This time I’m greeted with several handshakes, a few hugs and lots of smiles. My response to them is “it’s good to see you! How are you doing?” I notice this time that because it is a little warmer out, people linger in small groups to visit and eat together. It’s a happy crowd and I’m glad to be part of it. After about an hour, our simple meal is handed out. I have not eaten a thing yet I’m full, sustenance comes in many forms. What a gift.

    

      

One Comment leave one →
  1. susan permalink
    March 16, 2010 6:37 am

    I enjoy reading about your cooking experiences – I had no idea you were so talented – and was surprised when I saw some familiar faces!

Leave a Reply

