Skip to content

Brownie Substitute

March 8, 2010
by

My daughter Sarah had a hankering for browines the other night but I talked her into trying something I’d wanted to make for awhile now. About a year ago a friend brought these over for dessert and I was intrigued. You have to love the internet for many reasons but when you don’t know how something is made and can type in “chewy chocolate walnut cookies” and get a great, easy recipe you see how powerful search engines really are. I forgot to take a photo of them when they came out of the oven all shiny and gorgeous despite having survived being pulled out a few minutes into their baking because I, master multi-tasker,  had the oven full of ribs. Since the ribs were slow cooking I thought “what’s the harm in slipping a cookie tray onto of the neatly lined up slabs that were wrapped in foil?”  Fine idea until one of the packets of bbq goodness leaks and the oven starts smoking. That’s what happened so out came those experimental “chewy chocolate walnut cookies” to sit while I performed triage on the hot oven floor with wet paper towels to clean the mess up… Here’s what they looked like before baking.

Made 'em again and this is what they look like baked to perfection!

You’ll have to trust me on this one. Despite their brush with death, they were good – better than good, they were great. So great that after my family put away the ribs, cornbread and jicama and orange salad, they polished these off so fast I forgot to take the camera out. But that all happened last weekend, before I decided to start this blog.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. lizbarrett permalink
    March 8, 2010 3:35 pm

    Welcome to Blog Town! Cool, cool, cool! Must make these cookies!

  2. March 8, 2010 5:36 pm

    YAY For food blogging! I love the cookie idea, I’ll have to try them out soon 🙂

  3. Mark Spencer permalink
    March 8, 2010 6:14 pm

    Congrats on the yummy new blog! If you need tasters, remember that the Spencers are always game!

  4. Barbara permalink
    March 8, 2010 6:28 pm

    We are good tasters too!!
    Congrats on your new venture.

  5. sally sullivan permalink
    March 8, 2010 6:34 pm

    Hey Cuz, I’ve never read a blog in my life! Great job tempting me with your Topic of food, becuase I DO know how much you love to cook and everything you make comes out GREAT! Hugs to you. Sally Girl

  6. Lynn Combs permalink
    March 8, 2010 6:36 pm

    I’ve never read a blog either. How cool!!!

  7. March 8, 2010 6:36 pm

    Thanks for all the well wishes… I will post recipes, for sure.

  8. March 8, 2010 9:08 pm

    Hey Amy,
    I love this, but it is going to make me soooo hungry!!!!
    Kris D. (I don’t know how to change my name from Superflyfamliy – it is our family blog page with wordpress)

  9. Megan Mann permalink
    March 8, 2010 10:09 pm

    Hey Amy,
    Congrats! How cool is this!! I want to come over one day and help you blog so we can LOL
    together.

  10. Mari Marrinan permalink
    March 9, 2010 1:47 am

    My first read and reply to a blog. Just had to do since I watched Julie & Julia on Saturday night. I’ll be looking for your easy recipes. Have fun! Mari

  11. Julie Becker permalink
    March 9, 2010 3:12 pm

    Amy,
    How cool! I’m excited for your blog since I’m in a perpetual state of hunger. Those chocolate cookies are definitely going to be at my seder this year. They’re perfect for Passover…thanks!
    Julie Becker

Trackbacks

  1. Wow! Walnuts « World Plates

Leave a Reply

